Lincoln men, women attend MIAA Basketball Media Day

Kansas City, Mo. – The Missouri Southern men’s and women’s basketball programs will be part of the 2023 MIAA Basketball Media Day presented by Seigfried Bingham today morning in Kansas City. The event will take place at the College Basketball Experience in downtown Kansas City.

The event will be broadcast live, for free, on The MIAA Network. Fans can participate in media day can tweet a question using the hashtag #AskMIAA. MIAA Commissioner Mike Racy will kick things off at 9:15 am, while Lions’ coaches Ronnie Ressel and Sam McMahon will be on the stage at 1:15 pm. The complete schedule for Media Day is listed below and can also be found in the story links section above.

Last season the Southern women, 29-7 (16-6 MIAA), defeated #7 ranked Nebraska-Kearney in the semifinals and #10 Central Missouri in the championship to claim the MIAA Tournament championship. They also advanced to the Central Regional championship. The Southern men finished 17-13 (12-10 MIAA) and advanced to the MIAA Tournament Quarterfinals after defeating Northeastern State in the opening round.

Lincoln men, women attend MIAA Basketball Media Day
Both teams open the season on November 10-11, the women playing a tournament in Emporia and the men playing at the Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City. The men’s team will play their home opener on November 13 against Central Christian College, and the women’s team opens at home on December 7 against Central Oklahoma.

2023 MIAA Basketball Media Day Press Conference Schedule
9:15 – MIAA Commissioner, Mike Racy
Session I
9:30 a.m. – Emporia State, Brian Ostermann and Craig Doty
9:45 a.m. – Washburn, Lora Westling and Brett Ballard
10:00 a.m. – Newman, Amy Briggs and R.J. Allen
10:15 a.m. – Fort Hays State, Talia Kahrs and Mark Johnson
10:30 a.m. – BREAK
10:45 a.m. – Nebraska Kearney, Drew Johnson and Kevin Lofton
11:00 a.m. – Northeastern State, Keith Ferguson and Ja Havens
11:15 a.m. – Rogers State, Heather Davis and Justin Barkley
11:30 a.m. – BREAK
Session II
11:45 a.m. – Central Oklahoma, Emma Andrews and Bob Hoffman
12:00 p.m. – Central Missouri, Dave Slifer and Adam Bohac
12:15 p.m. – Missouri Western, Candi Whitaker and Will Martin
12:30 p.m. – Northwest Missouri, Austin Meyer and Ben McCollum
12:45 p.m. – BREAK
1:00 p.m. – Pittsburg State, Amanda Davied and Jeff Boschee
1:15 p.m. – Missouri Southern, Ronnie Ressel and Sam McMahon
1:30 p.m. – Lincoln, Andrea “Drea” Mize and Jimmy Drew
1:45 p.m.